The court clerk has the primary responsibility to record, file, and maintain as permanent records the proceedings of the district court.
If one or both of you are residents of McCurtain County and/or you are planning to get married in the County and/or in the State of Oklahoma, both of you will need to apply for the marriage license in person at the Court Clerk's office inside the Courthouse at 108 N. Central, Idabel, Oklahoma 74745. Our office is open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday and we are open during the lunch hour. We are closed on Federal Holidays. PLEASE PRESENT TO THE OFFICE BY 3:00 P.M. ON ANY GIVEN DAY TO OBTAIN YOUR LICENSE. You will receive the marriage license at the time you apply. It will take approximately 30 minutes for you to complete the application and for the license to be prepared. The marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days, the day you receive the license is counted as day one. O.S. 43 §36, O.S. 43 §6.
**As of November 1, 2022, there is a simple 30-day deadline. The Marriage License is valid for 30 days. The ceremony must be performed in 30 days, and the completed Marriage License must be returned to the Court Clerk in 30 days.
Both of you will submit identification at the time of applying for the marriage license that will state your full name and age. The ID may be a certified copy of your birth certificate, a current driver’s license or ID card, current passport, or any other certificate, license, or document issued by or existing pursuant to the laws of any nation of political subdivision thereof accepted as proof of identity and age.
If one of both of you are under 18 years of age, you must have consent from a parent or legal guardian. The parent/legal guardian who gives consent must appear with you to sign a consent affidavit. Should only one parent appear to sign consent, you must have proper legal documentation awarding full custody of the minor, unless the other parent on the Birth Certificate is deceased, then a Death Certificate is required. In this instance, there is a seventy-two (72) hour waiting period before you will receive the marriage license. 43 O.S. 3.
The marriage license cost is $50.00 payable to the McCurtain County Court Clerk by CASH ONLY.
If you have completed premarital counseling, bring a copy of the letter of verification when you apply for the marriage license. This document may be in form of a certificate or a letter from the party who conducted the counseling on letterhead verifying your names and that you both attended at least four (4) hours of counseling. The document shall be signed by the counselor or other official verifying the counseling. The document will be kept by the court clerk when you apply for your marriage license. If you have had premarital counseling, the marriage license cost is $5.00.